Legislative Affairs

The California State Legislature is made up of the State Assembly (80 members) and State Senate (40 members). The legislature operates on a two-year schedule that coincides with two-year elected terms in the Assembly. The legislative sessions run from December and January to September. Bills are introduced and must progress through policy and fiscal committees in both houses. The process is robust, with abundant opportunity for public participation.

Legislative affairs in California are high stakes across a fast-paced field. Hundreds of votes are cast during the nine-month sessions and dozens of stakeholders weigh in with public comments. Special-interest groups spend millions of dollars in efforts to influence public-policy decisions. It is imperative that growers participate. Maintaining an effective presence in the state legislature is a core function of the California Growers Association.

2018 Legislative Session

In 2018, CalGrowers tracked more than 100 pieces of legislation. Nine CalGrowers sponsored or supported bills were successfully signed into law by the end of session, while several others were vetoed or held in legislative committee. Many bills which were not signed into law will continue to be CalGrowers priorities under the new governor's administration in 2019.

Working through a deliberative two-step process, our policy positions are clear and decided in a transparent and inclusive process. Members discuss policy issues on Wednesday morning policy calls, after which policy committee has the opportunity to approve or reject policy positions on Monday morning calls. This process ensures we are accountable to our membership and our mission.

For a summary of the 2018 legislative year, please click here.

Previous Legislative Sessions

For updates and a summary of the 2017 legislative year, please click here

For updates and a summary of the 2016 legislative year, please click here

For more information about the 2015 legislative year, please click here. 

(Updated: October 2, 2018)